Data, security, and privacy

How does Conduit protect my privacy and data?

Common (and uncommon) questions on our data privacy and security practices, and why you're in good hands

We care about your trust

Conduit cares about protecting your data

We know you trust us to provide a phenomenal product and keep your data safe. In addition to industry-standard practices, we go above and beyond:

  • Minimal access: We only sync what you ask, and we don’t request extra permissions.
  • Read only: We never make changes to your original accounts.
  • Transparent: You can see synced data, pause or remove sync, or delete your account.
  • Opt-in sharing: Sharing features are never on by default. You’re in control.
  • Limited employee access: Conduit employees don’t have access to data you sync.
  • Aligned incentives: We provide a product that users want — that’s our business model.

Minimal, read-only access

Why does Conduit need my data?

Like most AI and machine-learning driven tools, Conduit needs a sufficient amount of data to provide a useful product and to deliver recommendations and insight.

Our algorithms perform better when we continuously sync your data — including email, contacts, and calendar — and make updates behind the scenes.

Can I choose not to sync something?

Yes. Sync is opt-in, and you can choose which data sources — including which calendars — to sync.

If you don’t sync anything, you can still use Conduit but it will be significantly less useful. For example,

  • Without syncing calendar, we won’t be able to suggest meetings for review, assemble timelines for your contacts, or calculate relationship depth.
  • Without syncing email, we may not be able to detect relationships and new contacts effectively.

Do changes I make in Conduit also change the synced sources?

No. Conduit doesn’t reflect changes back to the original sources. For example, if you delete a contact in Conduit, it will only be deleted in Conduit.


Transparency and sharing

How can I see what I’ve synced to Conduit?

A list of all synced sources is on your account settings page. You can also check the active imports page to see data processing in progress.

How can I stop syncing a data source?

Yes. You can choose to either pause the sync or to delete the synced source entirely.

If you pause the sync, we will keep the data we’ve already processed. Conduit won’t keep up with updates. If you’d like, you can even remove Conduit’s sync permissions from the other service.

If you delete the synced source, we will permanently remove the data and recalculate your relationship depth, which may result in worse insights and recommendations.


Limited employee access

Can Conduit employees see data I sync?

No. Conduit has one of the strictest policies around data privacy of any company in the space. Employees cannot see relationship data.

Keep in mind: Even if you “give us permission” (for example, to try and resolve a problem you’re experiencing), a Conduit employee cannot access this data.

What information is accessible to employees?

While Conduit employees cannot see your relationship data, they have access to a limited slice of account information and diagnostics:

What? Why? Examples
Account information To provide support e.g. full name; email address; who you were referred by; when you last used Conduit
Sync information To provide support e.g. IDs of synced accounts; time of last sync; sync errors; size and amount of data you've synced
Error diagnostics To fix problems e.g. where an error occurred; the type of computer/phone you're using
Aggregate statistics To improve Conduit e.g. total number of contacts and emails; how often you sign in
Anonymized usage To improve Conduit e.g. whether you have used a feature before

How does support use this information?

Generally, to provide support and to improve our product.

Although limited in scope, we go further and also control, audit, and log all user-related actions to create a trail of evidence. No arbitrary access is allowed.

External services

Which analytics services do Conduit use?

To keep external exposure to a minimum, we limit external services and conduct the vast majority of analytics in-house using systems we’ve built.

We use two services to track certain usage information:

  • Google Analytics, on public Conduit pages (for example, our home page). There is no personal information on these pages.
  • Intercom, on logged-in Conduit pages — to provide support messaging, and to access limited usage information.

    • Intercom has access to basic account information, such as your name, email address, and when you last used Conduit.

Which debug service does Conduit use?

We use a service to track and provide information when errors occur:

  • Sentry, on logged-in Conduit pages and in the mobile app — to provide our engineering team context when problems arise.

    • Sentry has access to your name and email address, but not other account information.
    • Sentry has access to diagnostic information about your browser, computer, or phone.
    • For errors, Sentry has access to where, in our code, the problem occurred.
    • Private information is automatically redacted from Sentry via our systems and via Sentry’s systems.